PDA

View Full Version : Can you help me with a cake?

Shellyamc
20-07-2011, 06:40 AM
Please! I only ever make cakes for my kids, so I never really worry about them being good enough. My kids are really too young to complain :taunt: So anyway one of my best friends asked if I would make her a Winnie the Pooh cake for her baby shower. AHHHHH!! I am honored and totally stressed! My Dh says everything is wonderful because a) he loves me and b) he couldn't care less about cake beyond eating one :tongue: So I made these bees out of fondant8977.vB8978.vB (which I have never done before) and at first I thought they were cute, but now I really don't know if they look like junk. I can't use my facebook because my friend obviously will see it.

Can you give me your opinion please..would you use them? Do they look too silly? :sigh: Too much pressure! :lol:

Britchick
20-07-2011, 06:44 AM
I think they're ace Shelly! How did you do them?

Shellyamc
20-07-2011, 07:56 AM
I think they're ace Shelly! How did you do them?

Aww thanks. That is my problem..the more I look at something the more I second guess the choice I made. I even annoy myself :nono:

They were pretty easy to make. I took a brick of fondant and left part white, tinted part yellow and the rest black. You cut small circles from the white and flatten them with your finger. I pinched the bottoms and set them aside. I used a pizza cutter to cut the strips from the black and a writing tip from a pastry bag to cut out the tiny eyes. Roll a big yellow ball for the body and put it together with a tiny bit of water. :yes:

Lor
20-07-2011, 08:00 AM
:2thumbsup: They look very professional and I am sure the cake will be scrummy.

mumof2
20-07-2011, 09:07 AM
Shelly, they're adorable! :yes:

arkvilla
20-07-2011, 09:36 AM
I think they look so cute Shelley, well done :-)

Sandra

uscwest
20-07-2011, 11:02 AM