PDA

View Full Version : I have a mutant pc.....



SleepinCatz
12-02-2009, 01:51 AM
so it turns out the power supply for my PC is an upopular mutant. ANd replacing it will be a nightmare. I will look into finding one....but..I have installed everything on a PC but the Motherboard.....how difficult would it be to transfer that to another tower so I can get a normal power supply?

SleepinCatz
12-02-2009, 01:56 AM
and it occurs to me you might want more info....

I have an HP with a mutant Micro ATX 250 SPOOOT I left the dead one downstairs in the van....if you need all the specs I will get it lol. Needless to say it's tiny with the fan on the back. Than means I have a small tower....however I do have a dell tower here and it's power supply is larger...I am thinking about checking to see how easy and how much $$$$ it's going to cost to replace that....if it's cheap and easy then I will transfer my hardware over from the HP to the Dell.

Disneybumble
12-02-2009, 07:36 AM
Catz it's so good to hear from you. I know nothing about PC' s but have a:hug2:

Tink
12-02-2009, 10:36 AM
I'm with Siobhan on this one, 'Catz. Can't do a thing but send :hug2: :hug2:

(But that mutant bit sounds more than a little scary)! :eek:

Taja
12-02-2009, 03:17 PM
Another one who is absolutely no help!

:hug2:

Just in case that helps a bit! :D

SleepinCatz
13-02-2009, 01:41 AM
lol tanx ya'll the hugs do help

keith
13-02-2009, 01:53 AM
It kinda depends really on the age of the two units as to how compatible the motherboards will be with the PSU. Then the micro motherboard may not have the mounting holes in the right place for the larger case.

Worth checking the connections from the psu to the motherboards to see if theyre the same before you re-engineer :)

Johnie
13-02-2009, 03:11 AM
:yeahthat:

josh.p.
16-02-2009, 12:22 AM
It kinda depends really on the age of the two units as to how compatible the motherboards will be with the PSU. Then the micro motherboard may not have the mounting holes in the right place for the larger case.

Worth checking the connections from the psu to the motherboards to see if theyre the same before you re-engineer :)
:geekon::geekon::geekon::geekon: