PDA

View Full Version : Logitech Optical Mouse--Help, Please!



Taja
31-03-2009, 03:05 PM
Does anyone know if said optical mouse requires a battery? My mouse at the office died yesterday while I was sneaking in a few minutes visiting my favourite Disney friends! :sigh: Definitely not related to the site, but it was being finicky all day and finally gave up in late afternoon. Had to resort to typing commands!

I inherited the mouse with the computer--no manuals available. :rolleyes:

I'm taking my old Dell mouse in as a temporary measure--hope it works, as I can't find the driver. It's a Dell computer, so fingers crossed. :fingers: I'd prefer not to pay OOP and be reimbursed later, but I it's necessary, I'll do it.

Dorothy
31-03-2009, 03:49 PM
You probably need 2 AA batteries for it. There should be a little slide door thingy that opens up underneath for the batteries.

josh.p.
31-03-2009, 05:00 PM
Is it wireless or just a normal optical mouse?

Shogun
31-03-2009, 07:26 PM
If it has a wire it is powered from the computer. If there is not a wire connecting it to the computer it will need batteries.

jg22524
31-03-2009, 08:34 PM
Just googled Logitech optical mouse, looking through the specs most of them (they are loads!) it says 2xAA battery, see example below (see specification section) ...

http://www.memory-express.co.uk/index.aspx?pageid=17&id=760992&utm_campaign=froogle&utm_source=Froogle&utm_medium=lead&utm_content=OEM+-+Logitech+RX650+Cordless+Optical+Mouse+(Black)

Taja
31-03-2009, 10:59 PM
Sorry! It's wireless.

There appears to be a "door" on the bottom, but can't figure out how to open it. :sigh:

It still receives a signal from the stick in the USB port, but it doesn't work on the screen. :unsure:

Usually I can figure these things out, but this one has beaten me. And it's the last two weeks of tax season! :mental:

Slowhand
01-04-2009, 08:18 AM
Possibly a silly comment, but I have a Logitech wireless mouse and it doesn`t need batteries as there is a charger to "park" the unit when not in use.
Could it be that you have the mouse but not the charger?

uscwest
01-04-2009, 11:24 AM
I have one also, but mine definitely takes two batteries. There is a button on the bottom end that I open to put the batteries in. However, from what Slowhand says it is possible you have the same as he and need a charger.

Taja
01-04-2009, 02:20 PM
Thanks, everyone!

No charger for this mouse. It must use batteries.

I'm going to run it over to the IT company in our building. They're really good about helping everyone with little things. And we make sure we take the bigger things to them and do our part to make sure they stay in business! :)

BTW, my corded Dell mouse worked fine without a driver. Must be the same as the original mouse. :)

Slowhand
01-04-2009, 02:21 PM
If you look on the underside of the mouse, if it needs a charger there will be a couple of small brass tags at the bottom of it. [These are where it locates in the charger unit.]

Slowhand
01-04-2009, 02:21 PM
Ooops! Our posts crossed!

Taja
01-04-2009, 02:27 PM
Nothing there, Slowhand. It appears there is a door that should open, but the button isn't releasing it. Could just be me trying to preserve my nails, although I've poked at it with a pen, letter opener and very small screwdriver. :shrug:

I give up! I'll see if the pros have any ideas. My corded mouse will do for the moment and we'll order a new one, if necessary. Tax season just isn't conducive to mouse anxiety! :rolleyes:

josh.p.
01-04-2009, 09:39 PM
Sorry! It's wireless.

There appears to be a "door" on the bottom, but can't figure out how to open it. :sigh:

It still receives a signal from the stick in the USB port, but it doesn't work on the screen. :unsure:

Usually I can figure these things out, but this one has beaten me. And it's the last two weeks of tax season! :mental:
OoOoOoOh! those battery things are an absolute G20 SUMMIT to open!!! They look like this;
http://www.dansdata.com/images/ltmscordless/ltmunder440.jpg

See the little bit with the curve in? You should squeeze the piece of plastic that is next to there and it will open.

Taja
04-04-2009, 04:45 PM
Thanks, Josh! It's in the hands of the IT pros in the building. The optical mouse isn't an emergency at the moment, so they'll check it out in the next week or so when someone has a spare moment. :)

My old Dell corded mouse is working very well. :thumbsup:

jg22524
04-04-2009, 08:44 PM
Is it possible that it contains rechargeable batterie? If you can get it open you could just replace with rechargeable ones and therefore don't need a charger for the mouse itself but just recharge the batteries outside of the mouse?

Taja
05-04-2009, 02:39 PM
Thanks, jg!

I've poked and prodded what appears to be a cover for a battery compartment with various small implements to no avail. And I'm being very girly and protecting my fingernails. :rolleyes: