PDA

View Full Version : how to get internet access at disney?



jojo
22-05-2009, 08:23 AM
hiya

is there internet access at all the disney parks and hotels without the need for a laptop?

when we're at disney we would like to at least check our email and perhaps check on this forum if we need more help

someone said there were special internet terminals around disney that could be used?

Tink
22-05-2009, 12:08 PM
Hmmmm...you know? I think there may be some access at Innovations in EPCOT, but I'm totally unware of any other. :unsure: Doesn't mean it's not there, only that I'm not familiar with it.

I've not seen a public use place (like you do in some hotels) for internet access in any Disney resort. :unsure:

I take the laptop and an aircard, so that's not much help to you, eh?

keith
22-05-2009, 12:34 PM
yep Tink's correct.

There used to be public access Internet kiosks dotted around the parks, resorts and downtown disney but they were removed some years ago :(

Getting on the Internet at Disney now means choosing one of the following main options

1. Some hotels, especially deluxe and convention hotels, have business rooms with computers/fax machines, printers and access to the Internet. These can be useful for checking in online for return flights and the like

2. You can get plugged in internet access in Disney hotels and resorts now for $9.95 per 24hours continuous access. Note, if you pay you get the next 24hrs of access and whether you use it or not, it'll expire in 24hrs ( I believe DVC members get it free)

3. some of the common areas around Disney hotels, again, mainly the deluxe resorts, have wifi internet access. You can buy by the hour or again 24hrs of access

It's a shame really because those internet kiosks were pretty handy

Tink
22-05-2009, 02:09 PM
All of those options at WDW require your own laptop though, eh Keith? :unsure:

keith
22-05-2009, 02:45 PM
All of those options at WDW require your own laptop though, eh Keith? :unsure:

except the business suite one I think. I'm pretty sure that hotels with those business rooms have pcs in there OR you can use your own laptop

Slowhand
22-05-2009, 03:45 PM
Of course there`s always the internet cafe area on the DCL ships! :thumbsup:

Tink
22-05-2009, 03:47 PM
Does that area allow you to use your own laptop and aircard, Slowhand or do you have to pay for their access (wifi??)?

Slowhand
22-05-2009, 03:56 PM
Does that area allow you to use your own laptop and aircard, Slowhand or do you have to pay for their access (wifi??)?
Sorry, I dunno Tink. :sorry:
As I don`t [yet] own a laptop, I`ve only used the pcs which are on board the ship.
They do have internet access points in the staterooms but I doubt whether you can do as you say and get "free" access. The chances are that you will be charged the same [or a greater ] rate than in the resort hotels.

keith
22-05-2009, 03:58 PM
They do have internet access points in the staterooms but I doubt whether you can do as you say and get "free" access. The chances are that you will be charged the same [or a greater ] rate than in the resort hotels.

ooo I didn't realise they had access points in the staterooms! mmmm that's interesting. Back to cruise planning :D

Slowhand
22-05-2009, 04:00 PM
Back to cruise planning :D
Go for it Keith. You know it makes sense! :thumbsup:

keith
22-05-2009, 04:02 PM
Go for it Keith. You know it makes sense! :thumbsup:

I do indeed :yes: you and Tom have both made the cruises sound really great

Mari
22-05-2009, 04:08 PM
boo hoo

I was hoping to have some wifi access for my iphone...

keith
22-05-2009, 04:12 PM
boo hoo

I was hoping to have some wifi access for my iphone...

Well if you get internet in your room, you can do what I do, use a tiny apple airport express to convert the wired internet into wifi :) it's as easy as plugging it in and plugging the in room internet into the airport instead of your laptop.

Voila! instant wifi for iphone, laptop etc. :)

Apple - AirPort Express (http://www.apple.com/airportexpress/)

Mari
22-05-2009, 04:29 PM
ok...

you DO know that way too advanced for my tiny brain, dont you??

but Ill let Toņo read this.... :)


Thank you Keith!

catrancher
23-05-2009, 04:37 PM
I do indeed :yes: you and Tom have both made the cruises sound really great

Well... then we've only done half our jobs! :unsure:

Get back to us when you've actually booked the trip! :yes:

Like Terry says:
You know it makes sense! :thumbsup:

Tom (:macwave:... yes Sir, Captain Sir!)

Slowhand
23-05-2009, 04:47 PM
Get back to us when you've actually booked the trip! :yes:



Couldn`t agree more. :thumbsup: Your cruise is well overdue by now Keith.

Isafari
23-05-2009, 04:59 PM
hiya

is there internet access at all the disney parks and hotels without the need for a laptop?

when we're at disney we would like to at least check our email and perhaps check on this forum if we need more help

someone said there were special internet terminals around disney that could be used?

I know you are asking specifically about WDW but, if you have transport and are in the International Drive area, there are internet cafe's you can use. Around $7 per hour if I remember correctly.

Tink
24-05-2009, 09:57 AM
$7 per hour??? YIKES! I am SO in the wrong business. :sigh: Internet cafe and Segway rental... that's what we should be doing! LOL.