Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What do you think?

Post Thanks / Like
    Up to now I have always taken my beloved Nikon DSLR with me whenever we go to Florida...or anywhere else for that matter...however when we were in New York last year I bought a Canon Powershot A4000 IS compact camera [I bet this gets Keith`s approval ] as it was similar to the camera that our friends from LA used and I was very impressed with the shots that they had taken with theirs. [It was also offered at a good price!]
    I am still learning how to "drive" it, but I am amazed at the various features that it has for such a small camera.

My dilemma is, should I take it on our next trip and leave my Nikon behind? Will I miss not having a DSLR, having been used to one for so long?
    The main advantage in leaving my Nikon at home is that I wouldn`t have to lug around my camera bag with the additional lens, flash gun etc.etc.wherever we go.

What do you reckon?

Post Thanks / Like
    You are asking the same question that Chris does every year He's been looking for a compact to replace the one we have, but he keeps putting it off because of exactly the same reason you said.

He enjoys taking the one he has now but like you he finds it a bit of a bind with the case and being heavy, extra lens, flash etc.

The other thing he is worried about is low light pictures, he said the canon will be probably be better than a compact.

All you can do is try it, just take the compact this time and if you find you miss it then take the Nikon when you go later this year, although you must take the Nikon then :D

If ever there is a tomorrow when we're not together.......
    there is something you must always remember.
    You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.
    But the most important thing is, even if we're apart...... I'll always be with you.
    Winne the Pooh - A A Milne

A friend is a hand that is always holding yours,