Thread: Dave Ramsey or other get out of debt ideas?

Post Thanks / Like
    As you know, I changed jobs last September. I took a big pay cut. I AM much happier than I was with the state. I like my job, the freedom and flexibility. However, I seem to be living in the manner of the old pay rate. This is not good. I was looking at ways to get my spending in check. I know tons of people who swear by Dave Ramsey. My grandma always used the envelope system for money. I think I may start doing that. I am much more cognizant of money when I actually see what I have. I am far too dependent on just swiping my debit card and not worrying about it.

I am a travel agent with The Magic For Less Travel. Please private message me if you'd like help booking a trip!

Post Thanks / Like
    Who's Dave Ramsey?

Post Thanks / Like
    He's a big financial guru in the US.

I am a travel agent with The Magic For Less Travel. Please private message me if you'd like help booking a trip!

Post Thanks / Like
    he sounds a bit like Martin Lewis of money saving expert fame here. His mantra is something like only buy something if you need it. I find writing everything down in a notebook keeps me in check!

Post Thanks / Like
    I recall my parents doing the "envelope budget" with us when we were teenagers. It was very visual.

Jon and I have a budget, and most of the time it serves us well. One of the things I have personally found REALLY helpful is that we now actually have vacation money in our budget. Each month we have a percentage of income that goes directly into a separate account, we never see it, and we don't touch it until we're ready to book a holiday. It's not a TON of money, but it makes me happy to see it going into the account and it gives us a bit of motivation to add to it when we can.

Good luck!

Post Thanks / Like
    I'm not good about writing things down. I have tried to do that eleventy billion times with food and then I just give up.