Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Serious question regarding ethical matter

Post Thanks / Like
    Ok, I've been reading about Hurricane Ike all week. I saw in the last several days where people were told to evacuate or face "certain death". Many, many people chose to stay and ride it out. Now I am reading that these same people are begging for rescue help.

My question is, if you have been warned and you choose not to heed said warning.....do you think it is anyone's responsibility to bail you out?

My big, generous heart says we have a moral obligation to help those who cannot/will not help themselves.

The other tiny part of me that can't abide stupidity thinks they made their bed......

What do you think?

Also, would you leave if you had been issued this warning? My butt would have been out of there!

I am a travel agent with The Magic For Less Travel. Please private message me if you'd like help booking a trip!

Post Thanks / Like
    i think that everyone has the right to make an unwise decision. We all make mistakes and i think it's a bit tough to say ok you screwed up now you must suffer. Having said that i don't think their decisions should put others at risk and i have a problem bailing people out who continue to screw up!

not much help lol, i love ethical debates:p015:

about leaving, the last year we were in Charleston there was the threat of a hurricane but it hit further north, my friend and i had hotel rooms booked in country about a week before and had planned what we would take so yes i would evacuate.

Post Thanks / Like
    Given how big and where he hit...I wouldv'e have run too. And that's saying alot considering I've ridden out Gustav and Katrina plus drove thru Rita.