Thread: new story

Post Thanks / Like
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20081016/...tanic_survivor

To me, this story is so sad. I wish that we cherished our elderly more than we do.

Post Thanks / Like
    I just read that. It is shameful!! I am just horrified. The way a society treats their elderly is a direct link to their true character.

I am a travel agent with The Magic For Less Travel. Please private message me if you'd like help booking a trip!

Post Thanks / Like
    I think the law has recently changed here about that now..... someone here will know for sure, and if it has it will be too late for this lady :(

Post Thanks / Like
    Not only are they getting older, likely having health problems, but now we ask them to give up everything they hold dear just to survive. :(

Post Thanks / Like
    i know a bit about this as the job i did before this one involved placing people into long term care.

The policy of our government is to keep people in their homes for as long as possible and if possible forever. This is also the preferred option for the vast majority of older people, they want to grow old and die in their own homes. There are services such as home care to support people with their care needs at home and there are few circumstances where somebody cannot be actually maintained at home provided they have an adequate care package.

I actually agree with the policy but feel that there is not enough money to provide the actual support needed so people often feel that they want to go into a residential/nursing home.