Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: New external hard drive

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Ok. I got a lovely new 1 terabyte external hard drive from Santa Hubby. That should be enough space to last me for a while, I'd think.

    Anyway, in reading the documentation yesterday I discovered that it has been preformatted as FAT32 which has a maximum individual file size of 4 GB and partition size of 32 GB. When attempting to back up my laptop yesterday I quickly reached that file limitation.

    The documentation says I can reformat the drive as NTFS to overcome the file and partition limitations. This is probably a silly question, but should I go ahead and reformat the drive? Oh, I'm running XP, by the way, which is why the new drive was preformatted as FAT32...

    Also, when I tried to bring up my laptop this morning WITH the drive attached, my laptop never came up. However, when I removed it and powered my system back on, it came right up. Any ideas?
    Donna
    (aka wdwgrandma)






  2. #2
    Administrator keith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    21,283
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hiya,

    I actually prefer FAT32 for external drives because pretty much everything can read/write them, xp/vista even linux and so on. NTFS is becoming more widespreadly supported but not quite as much so as fat32.

    In terms of the limitations, actually you can have a FAT32 partition greater than 32GB, my 1TB external drive is FAT32 and all 1TB is accessible, it's just that the XP format utility in the setup procedure won't do it.

    (so I'm kinda surprised if they really only formatted it to 32GB from the outset :/ I dont see any reason for that)

    Anyway, to be honest there's nothing to be lost by formatting it to NTFS if you like and especially if you'll only be accessing it from windows.

    In terms of not booting up, it sounds like perhaps the laptop has assigned bootable c: to the external drive rather than the internal drive of the laptop :/ which again is REALLY weird.

    None of it is insurmoutable I'd give it a go formatting it as NTFS first and go from there.. just be careful to format the right one :/ I know you know what you're doing but sometimes the letters can get swapped around and it's easy to end up blanking the wrong drive
    Disney information? Try our online guidebook at http://wdisneysecrets.com
    Get your own Disney Countdown at http://toys.wdisneysecrets.com







  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks, Keith. You are pretty much just confirming what we already know. But it was a bit scary to even consider doing something to a new gift! I'll need to copy the stuff that was already on the new drive before I reformat it (utilities, documentation, etc...). I always get a bit nervous when doing something so drastic.
    Donna
    (aka wdwgrandma)






  4. #4
    Administrator keith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    21,283
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by wdwgrandma, post: 87853
    Thanks, Keith. You are pretty much just confirming what we already know. But it was a bit scary to even consider doing something to a new gift! I'll need to copy the stuff that was already on the new drive before I reformat it (utilities, documentation, etc...). I always get a bit nervous when doing something so drastic.
    totally know what you mean

    I'm really surprised it's been formatted as 32GB to be honest :/ I mean, staggeringly surprised.

    Anyway, I think you're definitely on the right path. Give me a shout if looks like it's not working out or something goes weird
    Disney information? Try our online guidebook at http://wdisneysecrets.com
    Get your own Disney Countdown at http://toys.wdisneysecrets.com







  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    967
    Post Thanks / Like
    It said it was formatted that way for "compatibility with all updated Windows and Macintosh operating systems..." Their words, not mine. LOL So I'm sitting here trying to work up the nerve to attempt this feat!!!
    Donna
    (aka wdwgrandma)






  6. #6
    Administrator keith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    21,283
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by wdwgrandma, post: 87856
    It said it was formatted that way for "compatibility with all updated Windows and Macintosh operating systems..."
    I'm sitting here scratching my head and getting nothing but splinters

    Anyway yeah, sounds like it's a good idea to wash it all away

    Their words, not mine. LOL So I'm sitting here trying to work up the nerve to attempt this feat!!!
    I totally know what you mean

    Thing is, it's not useful with 32GB so something has to be done
    Disney information? Try our online guidebook at http://wdisneysecrets.com
    Get your own Disney Countdown at http://toys.wdisneysecrets.com







  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    967
    Post Thanks / Like
    LOL So a quick look at the C: drive on my laptop shows me that it is also NTFS!!!
    Donna
    (aka wdwgrandma)






  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Chelmsford
    Posts
    445
    Post Thanks / Like
    Someone better not tell Crayola DeVille about these as all the pictures she takes when she meets me and knocks me black and blue for talking the "wee-wee's" out of her on the forum..

    Keith...thinking of getting one for me laptop for itunes/films etc...recomendations of one ?

  9. #9
    Administrator keith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    21,283
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by wdwgrandma, post: 87873
    LOL So a quick look at the C: drive on my laptop shows me that it is also NTFS!!!
    yep that's just fine!

    NTFS has been around as the default filesystem for ages now so no problem there
    Disney information? Try our online guidebook at http://wdisneysecrets.com
    Get your own Disney Countdown at http://toys.wdisneysecrets.com







  10. #10
    Administrator keith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    21,283
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by malcolm, post: 87880
    Keith...thinking of getting one for me laptop for itunes/films etc...recomendations of one ?
    Well most of the big name brands are just fine. We've kinda settled on the Western digital range
    Disney information? Try our online guidebook at http://wdisneysecrets.com
    Get your own Disney Countdown at http://toys.wdisneysecrets.com







Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •