Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cheapest way to call home from Disney?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    53
    Post Thanks / Like
    Whats the cheapest way to make some calls back to the UK? I assume that using the in room phone wont be cheap so is it best to buy a phone card or buy one of those pay as you go mobile phones?

    We'll also have a laptop so is there a way we could use that somehow?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berkshire UK
    Posts
    5,026
    Post Thanks / Like
    We used a phone in the hotel lobby when we had a hurricane and needed to phone home to tell people we were OK (we don't ususally phone home so didn't have phonecards or anything) - two fairly short phonecalls to the UK cost us over 60!

    I'm sure you can buy prepaid phone cards in the supermarkets.






    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like
    I always buy International Phone Cards from places like Walgreens . . easy to use in any public phone booth (even the one's at Theme Parks) and very, very cheap calls back to the UK. Just make sure you get the International one - $10 cards will last for ages
    Steve

    Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened

    My Orlando Tourist Map: www.orlandomaps.co.uk

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    Posts
    6,094
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by daftaboutdisney, post: 104504
    We'll also have a laptop so is there a way we could use that somehow?
    You may want to check out Skype.

    Tom (... haven't used it myself but have heard good things about it)

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    92
    Post Thanks / Like
    does skype work on my macbook or only on peecees?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    Posts
    6,094
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by disnut, post: 118804
    does skype work on my macbook or only on peecees?

    I've got it installed on my Macbook Pro and it runs just fine.

    I just haven't registered with Skype yet.

    Tom (... procrastinating, as usual)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •