1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome both old friends and new to the all new Walt Disney Secrets :-D Please take a moment to say hi

Anyone got a good recommendation

Discussion in 'Gadgets and Gizmos' started by ukwdwnut, Jul 18, 2009.

  1. ukwdwnut
    Offline

    ukwdwnut Director of Recruitment Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    for a good router with a decent range and reliability

    ive currently got a speedtouch 585v6 and its losing speed all the time loses connection wireless just goes to a standstill like 4mbps at its lowest and its driving me nuts :lol:
  2. ukwdwnut
    Offline

    ukwdwnut Director of Recruitment Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    no one at all has got a router they recommend wow im surprised :(
  3. catrancher
    Offline

    catrancher Assistant Cruise Director Forum Host

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    Well, I'm real pleased with my Apple Airport!

    But I don't necessarily think you'd want one of those! :unsure:

    Netgear and Linksys both seem to have reasonably good reputations. Linksys is owned by Cisco and while that doesn't necessarily mean much, Cisco's reputation in the business environment is stellar. :yes:

    Tom :)macwave:... it's a Mac thing!)
  4. ukwdwnut
    Offline

    ukwdwnut Director of Recruitment Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    no i dont think so tom :lol: although if i had a mac i would :wink:

    yeah i was thinking of those two plus belkin, but wanted some recommendations from peeps

    im testing a thomson out at the mo and its been reliable so far been at 54mbps all the time where mine is all over the place, will do a spedd test on it and see if its better than before, downloads seemed a lot quicker but that depends on so many factors anyway
  5. keith
    Online

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,376
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    ...and I didn't reply for the following reasons :lol:

    1. I have a rather expensive cisco ADSL router which kept losing dsl sync. After many days on the phone with cisco, it just seems that the chipset cisco use is quite happy to sync higher than it can reasonably hold and on certain types of DSLAM can't/won't sync down again :/ so.............

    2. I researched every dsl chipset and came to the conclusion that the best speed and stability would come from the speedtouch 585v6 :) yep, the one you already have! so I have the speedtouch doing the DSL, then I use the CISCO to route the network BUT because the speedtouch 585v6 WIFI is rubbish, I turned that off and bought...............

    3. an apple airport :D The airport has been spot on perfect and works with pcs just as well as it does with macs.


    So not much point me replying when I was only going to recommend stuff you had and stuff you didn't want :D but other than that my comments are, stay away from 3com and as Tom says linksys are good but be sure to buy UK specific since UK linksys wifi uses a higher power than EU/US so gives a better signal that can penetrate walls much better.
  6. ukwdwnut
    Offline

    ukwdwnut Director of Recruitment Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    :lol: thx keith well as usual your input is welcome and good info too

    ok i think it might be a linksys then

    the thing is with the speedtouch keith is when the wifi is really slow, as low as 4mbps on the odd occassion so is mine on the desktop which is hard wired dont ask me why ive no idea :lol:
  7. catrancher
    Offline

    catrancher Assistant Cruise Director Forum Host

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    Odd... I was going to mention that the Airport works just fine with PC's but thought that perhaps people were getting tired of me sounding like a Mac zealot all the time. :unsure:

    Can't help it! I just believe! :thumbsup:

    Tom :)macwave:... quick, all Apple fanatics. Over here in this corner!)
  8. foreverducky
    Offline

    foreverducky Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,327
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    United States
    I have a Belkin that works wonderfully! I had to go through several different kinds before I got one that worked (not this one specific but brands)
  9. ukwdwnut
    Offline

    ukwdwnut Director of Recruitment Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    ooooo i missed the apple airport being compatible with the pc. will have a look at how much


    ok thx for that billie :D
  10. ukwdwnut
    Offline

    ukwdwnut Director of Recruitment Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    do you think its worth upgrading the firmware first and see what happens ?

Share This Page