anyway to call home from disney for free?

Discussion in 'Gadgets and Gizmos' started by janetm, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. janetm

    janetm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any way to callhome from disney using my laptop for free or cheaply? could that skype do it and if it can, how? do both sides need it?
     
  2. uscwest

    uscwest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,694
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Woodbridge, VA
    Yes you could do it with Skype most definitely if both ends have Skype. It has been so long since I have used Skype I don't remember if you can call a regular phone or not, but if you could there may be a charge.
     
  3. Tink

    Tink Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29,628
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Can't help you much with free calling but I do know that you can email a wicked neat post card from Innoventions. :yes:
     
  4. kazzaqld

    kazzaqld Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Australia
    Home Page:
    The thing is though that to use Skype you need internet access and as far as I know that ISN'T free at most Disney resorts.

    Wish it was - it would make it very economical to keep in touch! :(
     
  5. Tink

    Tink Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29,628
    Likes Received:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I think it's $10 (give or take) per day to use the internet at WDW? :unsure:
     
  6. Taja

    Taja New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    It is, Tink. Actually, for 24 continuous hours of use. If you plan it well, you can use it over two days. I've done that to minimize the cost for business use. I was able to upload the data I needed for two days, skip a day, then do three more days--five days of data for the cost of two!

    What can I say? I'm frugal, even on someone else's dime! :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page