1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome both old friends and new to the all new Walt Disney Secrets :-D Please take a moment to say hi

Computer glitch

Discussion in 'Gadgets and Gizmos' started by mainecoon lover, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. mainecoon lover
    Offline

    mainecoon lover Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cornwall
    My computer seems to not display phone numbers when i am looking at a web page :unsure: why would this be. If i click refresh it shows and then disapears.
  2. foreverducky
    Offline

    foreverducky Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,327
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    United States
    Maybe your phone company is telling you, you talk too much and should not be calling anyone else. ;)
  3. mumof2
    Offline

    mumof2 Serious Forum Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,843
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    West Sussex
    how weird - did you get it sorted?
  4. catrancher
    Offline

    catrancher Assistant Cruise Director Forum Host

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    What are you running? Is this Internet Explorer 7? What OS? XP, Vista, some other? Need a little more information before we could guess.

    However, this sounds like something some 3rd party software might do. Do you have any special tool bars installed? Any security software? More details, please.

    Tom :)macwave:... didn't need to phone them anyway)
  5. mainecoon lover
    Offline

    mainecoon lover Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cornwall
    We are vista with macfee security. No tool bar than normal that i am aware of although every now and then my search appears instead og google :unsure:
  6. catrancher
    Offline

    catrancher Assistant Cruise Director Forum Host

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    Not really sure what's going on there. There have been similar reports from users indicating that phone numbers are being hidden when using IE under Vista. Same symptoms as you've indicated. While no definitive answers to what's causing it, most people seem to feel that it's the result of some third party security product like Mcafee or something. There's also a reported issue using Skype on Vista. Is that something you use?

    Try this. In Internet Explorer, go to your Tools menu -> Manage Add-ons -> Enable or Disable Add-ons.

    Tell us what you've got on that list.

    Tom :)macwave:... trying to narrow it down!)
  7. uscwest
    Offline

    uscwest Senior Cast Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,555
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Woodbridge, VA
    Are you using IE8? Have you tried Firefox?
  8. mainecoon lover
    Offline

    mainecoon lover Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Loads :lol:

    shockwave flash object
    google / toolbar helper/notifier BHO
    research
    scriptproxy
    send to onenote
    showbarobj class
    sky
    skype
    sun java console
    adobe pdf reader
    skype add ons (mastermind)
    ssvhelper class
    yahoo toolbar

    :unsure::unsure:
  9. catrancher
    Offline

    catrancher Assistant Cruise Director Forum Host

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    Ok. Something in that list is most likely the problem. Here's a post I ran across on the World Wide Wait that lists a potential problem with Skype:

    Skype post

    You may want to check that out. Also, you might try disabling each of those plugins/extensions one at a time to see if it makes any difference. Start with the Skype Mastermind.

    Once you find one that corrects the problem, turn the others back on one at a time again.

    Tom :)macwave:... hope this helps... remote diagnosis ain't easy!)
  10. mainecoon lover
    Offline

    mainecoon lover Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Thankyou. I am thinking perhaps it is skype as we added that not long ago. We have only had this probem for roughly the same time. Thanks for all your help. Will let you know how i go :thumbsup:
  11. keith
    Offline

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,255
    Likes Received:
    368
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I agree with Tom, it'll be Skype intercepting the phone numbers and trying to recode the links on screen so when you click on them, it'll call up skype for you instead. Only it's messing up.

    Disabling the skype plugin should sort.

    HOWEVER, I also want to second uscwest's suggestion. Try firefox ( Mozilla | Firefox web browser & Thunderbird email client )
  12. mainecoon lover
    Offline

    mainecoon lover Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Thankyou, it was skype. I have disabled the add ons and now we get telephone numbers
  13. josh.p.
    Offline

    josh.p. Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Wirral
    Try firefox anyway- it's ace.
  14. catrancher
    Offline

    catrancher Assistant Cruise Director Forum Host

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    Glad we were able to help you get it sorted out! :yes:

    But... I've got to echo the recommendations of both Keith and Josh. Give Firefox a go. It's a great browser! :thumbsup:

    Tom :)macwave:... if it jams, force it. If it breaks, it needed replacing anyway!)

Share This Page