I have a mutant pc.....

Discussion in 'Gadgets and Gizmos' started by SleepinCatz, Feb 12, 2009.

  1. SleepinCatz

    SleepinCatz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Facility Manager
    Location:
    Louisiana
    so it turns out the power supply for my PC is an upopular mutant. ANd replacing it will be a nightmare. I will look into finding one....but..I have installed everything on a PC but the Motherboard.....how difficult would it be to transfer that to another tower so I can get a normal power supply?
     
  2. SleepinCatz

    SleepinCatz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Facility Manager
    Location:
    Louisiana
    and it occurs to me you might want more info....

    I have an HP with a mutant Micro ATX 250 SPOOOT I left the dead one downstairs in the van....if you need all the specs I will get it lol. Needless to say it's tiny with the fan on the back. Than means I have a small tower....however I do have a dell tower here and it's power supply is larger...I am thinking about checking to see how easy and how much $$$$ it's going to cost to replace that....if it's cheap and easy then I will transfer my hardware over from the HP to the Dell.
     
  3. Disneybumble

    Disneybumble New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Catz it's so good to hear from you. I know nothing about PC' s but have a:hug2:
     
  4. Tink

    Tink Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm with Siobhan on this one, 'Catz. Can't do a thing but send :hug2: :hug2:

    (But that mutant bit sounds more than a little scary)! :eek:
     
  5. Taja

    Taja New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Another one who is absolutely no help!

    :hug2:

    Just in case that helps a bit! :D
     
  6. SleepinCatz

    SleepinCatz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Facility Manager
    Location:
    Louisiana
    lol tanx ya'll the hugs do help
     
  7. keith

    keith Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    22,238
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Home Page:
    It kinda depends really on the age of the two units as to how compatible the motherboards will be with the PSU. Then the micro motherboard may not have the mounting holes in the right place for the larger case.

    Worth checking the connections from the psu to the motherboards to see if theyre the same before you re-engineer :)
     
  8. Johnie

    Johnie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    15,925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Vocational Counselor
    Location:
    Virginia
  9. josh.p.

    josh.p. New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Wirral
    Home Page:
    :geekon::geekon::geekon::geekon:
     

Share This Page