1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome both old friends and new to the all new Walt Disney Secrets :-D Please take a moment to say hi

iPod Touch Question

Discussion in 'Gadgets and Gizmos' started by ukwdwnut, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. ukwdwnut
    Offline

    ukwdwnut Director of Recruitment Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
  2. catrancher
    Offline

    catrancher Assistant Cruise Director Forum Host

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    Mick,

    Yes, you use both cables but the 3.5mm lead doesn't plug directly into your iPod. It actually plugs into the big control head on the AutoPilot and then from there into your stereo. Reason being is that the iPods 3.5mm headphone jack port is designed for just that, headphones. As such, it's volume limited. Wouldn't want to blow your head off the first time you used headphones. :eek:
    However, the iPod also supplies line out through the 30 pin connector on the bottom. The AutoPilot takes this audio out of the 30 pin connector, splits it out in the AutoPilot head and delivers the audio through the 3.5mm patch cord to your stereo.

    Don't ask. I have no idea why they made it a separate cable unless they figured you might need different lengths to get to your stereo. On the one I've got (earlier model), the audio cable is hard wired to the charger head.

    Here's the link to the AutoPilot manual. Such as it is!

    Tom :)macwave:... cobbley? :unsure:)
  3. ukwdwnut
    Offline

    ukwdwnut Director of Recruitment Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
  4. catrancher
    Offline

    catrancher Assistant Cruise Director Forum Host

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    Only in that the other end of the 3.5mm cable plugs into your radios aux in port. It's not an FM transmitter like the iTrip. It's actually wired into your system. Really gives excellent sound through your car system. :thumbsup:

    Your car radio does have an Aux In 3.5mm jack doesn't it?

    Tom :)macwave:... Old Uncle Tom Cobley and all!)
  5. ukwdwnut
    Offline

    ukwdwnut Director of Recruitment Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    ok understand it all now, didnt want to get confused with either

    yes it has an mp3 jack by the handbrake which is incorporated in the cente console...will order one now so i get it for the trip to scotland :)

    i did try just a 3.5mm cable on its own from the ipod to the car mp3 jack but it didnt work lol

    thx mate :D
  6. ukwdwnut
    Offline

    ukwdwnut Director of Recruitment Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
  7. catrancher
    Offline

    catrancher Assistant Cruise Director Forum Host

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    You WILL like it! :yes:

    You'll also be able to control your iPod from the buttons on the charging jack if it's in an accessible location. Mine isn't in my car since the charging jack is actually inside the center console. But in that case, I just lay my iPod in the console tray and run the cable inside the console. Then use the iPod controls just like normal.

    They really work a treat!

    Tom :)macwave:... needs his tunes!)
  8. ukwdwnut
    Offline

    ukwdwnut Director of Recruitment Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    i will has to be better than the itrip im using, real rubbish sound
    i have a tray in font of the jack will lay it in there
  9. ukwdwnut
    Offline

    ukwdwnut Director of Recruitment Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    used the griffin for the 1st time yesterday, it arrived while i was in scotland. cool worth the 20 quid :)
  10. catrancher
    Offline

    catrancher Assistant Cruise Director Forum Host

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    Cool! :2thumbsup:

    Told ya they worked good!

    Tom :)macwave:... plugged in!)
  11. ukwdwnut
    Offline

    ukwdwnut Director of Recruitment Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    while i was up in scotland my friend shwed me how to get aux on the stereo in the car, i couldnt find it anywhere, so just my cable worked up there.

    the griffin is better as you have the control righ at your fingertips instead of looking on the ipod....thx for the link to begin with tom :)

Share This Page