1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome both old friends and new to the all new Walt Disney Secrets :-D Please take a moment to say hi

Macbook issue

Discussion in 'Gadgets and Gizmos' started by mainecoon lover, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. mainecoon lover
    Offline

    mainecoon lover Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Hi all :wave:

    Our lovely macbook screen has gone dark :unsure: anyone know why ?

    thanks
     
  2. keith
    Offline

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,501
    Likes Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Need a touch more info I think

    Can you see any other lights on it? Hear the fan when it's switched on? or is it completely dead with nothing changing or happening at all when you turn it on
     
  3. mainecoon lover
    Offline

    mainecoon lover Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cornwall
    we can still use it but the screen is just not as bright as it usually is. Its been like it for a few days now. I thought it was my eyes as they have been playing up but dh complained about it. I can not hear a fan
     
  4. keith
    Offline

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,501
    Likes Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    have you tried just turning up the brightness?

    system preferences - display and turn up the brightness (there are keyboard shortcuts for it as well on I think the f1 and f2 keys)
     
  5. mainecoon lover
    Offline

    mainecoon lover Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Yeah but nothing happens
     
  6. keith
    Offline

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,501
    Likes Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    ok, is it very very very very very dark? or just not quite as bright as it was?

    Is it the same when plugged in as when on battery?

    Try this: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3964?viewlocale=en_US

    If not, it could be a dodgy inverter or pinched inverter cable which would need service to fix
     
  7. mainecoon lover
    Offline

    mainecoon lover Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Yes same as when on battery
     
  8. keith
    Offline

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,501
    Likes Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    ok well try resetting the SMC first but if no go, take it to the apple store genius bar and get them to check it out. It could still so easily be something that I'd notice in an instant if it was in front of me, but if not, it sounds to me like a dodgy backlight/inverter. Either way, they'll sort it out for you
     
  9. mainecoon lover
    Offline

    mainecoon lover Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Thanks Keith. I went into display and turned it up that way. Just questioning people here on who may of played with brightness. I hope this solves it
     
  10. keith
    Offline

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,501
    Likes Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    ooo so you can turn it up from inside preferences and it works fine?
     
  11. mainecoon lover
    Offline

    mainecoon lover Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cornwall
    sorry went bed. yes but not via keyboard
     
  12. keith
    Offline

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,501
    Likes Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    ok going into system preferences, select keyboard

    is "use all f1,f2 etc keys as standard function keys" ticked?
     
  13. mainecoon lover
    Offline

    mainecoon lover Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cornwall
    sorry busy life as no carers at mo. Yes they are.
     
  14. keith
    Offline

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,501
    Likes Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    deselect that and pressing the f keys again to raise/lower the brightness
     
  15. mainecoon lover
    Offline

    mainecoon lover Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cornwall
    You are a complete star, thanks hun :thumbsup: now working :yes:
     
  16. keith
    Offline

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,501
    Likes Received:
    431
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Brilliant :hug2:
     
  17. Skywatcher
    Offline

    Skywatcher Chief Astronomer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,636
    Likes Received:
    183
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Can I just add

    'yay'

    And Keith you are a star :yes:
     

Share This Page