New iPhone

Discussion in 'Gadgets and Gizmos' started by ukwdwnut, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. ukwdwnut

    ukwdwnut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Manager/Support
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    WOOHOO

    i got my iphone 4 today :) :wiggle::thumbsup::excited:
     
  2. daveann

    daveann New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dorset UK
    yay :)
    your really into apple now :)
     
  3. ukwdwnut

    ukwdwnut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Manager/Support
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    thats as far as im going ann...although i would and have wanted a macbook for a long while, but i cant justify the expense
     
  4. Isafari

    Isafari Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    13,955
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    North East England
    Fantastic - is it all you expected it to be?
     
  5. ukwdwnut

    ukwdwnut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Manager/Support
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    i cant use it yet its still not activated lol grrrrrrr

    i cant fathom how the heck you use facetime either lol
     
  6. catrancher

    catrancher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Once again, technology and such.
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    So he says... time passes... [​IMG]

    Tom :)macwave:... :tapnails:)
     
  7. ukwdwnut

    ukwdwnut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Manager/Support
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    :lol: tom if i could get a decent 2nd hand macbook at a cheap price then id get one, cant justify the cost of a new one. 2nd hand one go for so much so doubt i will get one

    onto the OP the iphone 4 is an awesome phone tho, im well pleased with it, ive just spent all morning adding my contacts, phew!! all done now.

    do you know if you can share or transfer apps from one device to another? ie from my touch the the phone?
     
  8. josh.p.

    josh.p. New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Wirral
    Home Page:
    If you set up the iPhone with the same iTunes account you should be able to just drag them straight to your iPhone via iTunes.
     
  9. catrancher

    catrancher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Once again, technology and such.
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    Yep! Like Josh says, as long as the app is compatible with both devices, and you use the same iTunes account, your apps should sync to both devices just fine. I've got a number of apps that have two user interfaces, one for the iPhone and one for the iPad. One app, two interfaces. They sync just fine to both my iPhone and my iPad. Same deal for you with the iPod Touch and the iPhone. :thumbsup:

    Tom :)macwave:... innit great!)
     
  10. ukwdwnut

    ukwdwnut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Manager/Support
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    ok thx will try that and hook up the touch and phone together in the morning
     
  11. catrancher

    catrancher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Once again, technology and such.
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    No, Mick! You just sync each one individually with iTunes on your PC. iTunes will make sure the correct stuff goes on each one if you've set it to sync apps automatically or you can do it manually in iTunes.

    Now I've got a picture in my head of Mick sitting there with a cable strung between his iPhone and his iPod Touch saying "Huh! This isn't working quite like I'd imagined!" :ROFL:

    Tom :)macwave:... it's early here yet...)
     
  12. ukwdwnut

    ukwdwnut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Manager/Support
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    lol i meant both on the pc separately not connecting the 2 devices togather lmao
     
  13. JStrickPhoto

    JStrickPhoto New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It works well and very easy to use. The caveat: you both have to be on a wifi network. Not the same network, but a wifi network. That is what the phone uses to transfer the larger blocks of video data.

    Just be sure you are both on wifi. Then, place your call as you normally would. Once you are talking, pull the phone from your face and click the "FaceTime" icon. It will start a FaceTime session once the other party agrees.

    Works great the handful of times we've used it!

    Jamie
     
  14. ukwdwnut

    ukwdwnut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Manager/Support
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    ahhhh thats why i couldnt use it with my daughter, she has no internet...thx jamie

    i have to call my carrier too, when anyone calls me it doesnt ring or bleep when i get a text. when i choose the tones/ringers i know the speaker works as i hear the tones/ringers
     
  15. josh.p.

    josh.p. New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Wirral
    Home Page:
    Do you have silent switched on? There is a little switch above the volume buttons.
     
  16. ukwdwnut

    ukwdwnut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Manager/Support
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    lol funny you should say that, just been on th ephone to 3 and he said that, it was on silent, i didnt know what that button was...all sorted now :)

    not much in the way of ringtones is there unlike the nokias :(
     
  17. catrancher

    catrancher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Once again, technology and such.
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    Create and add all the ringtones you'd like Mick! :yes:

    Here's instructions on how to do it via iTunes. You can take any .m4a sound file or clip that's under 40 seconds long, rename it to an .m4r and import it into iTunes. Voila, instant custom ringtone!

    Tom :)macwave:... making an annoying sound!)
     
  18. ukwdwnut

    ukwdwnut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Manager/Support
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    ooooo i like that thx tom :)
     
  19. josh.p.

    josh.p. New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Wirral
    Home Page:
    I knew you'd find something to moan about Mick :wink:
     
  20. ukwdwnut

    ukwdwnut New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    11,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Manager/Support
    Location:
    Billericay,Essex, UK
    wasnt moaning :taunt: :lol:
     

Share This Page