1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome both old friends and new to the all new Walt Disney Secrets :-D Please take a moment to say hi

offsite dining?

Discussion in 'Restaurants, Dining, Dining Plans' started by goofyspal, Jul 20, 2008.

1. goofyspal

goofyspal Earning my ears

Hi everyone, newbie here wondering about restaurants. We always stay on disney so have never tried all those places we see along the side of the roads.

Anyone any recommendations where to go and where not to go?

ponderosa? olive garden I think? there are many others but I cant remember their names :confused:
  2. Johnie

Johnie Budget Queen Forum Host

There are tons of restaurants in the area! It depends on what you are looking for. Olive Garden is ok Italian. I always get their chicken scampi so I can't really comment on the rest of their menu. Ponderosa is a buffett and lots of people seem to like it.

I like Bahama Breeze. I also like Sweet Tomatoes as well. They are a salad/soup/pasta buffett. We don't have either of those here.
  3. Tink

Tink Cead Mille Failte! Staff Member Administrator

Oooh, food. Let's talk! :lol:

Much of course, depends upon what you and your family like. :yes:

The Darden Chain (Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Season's 52...) is middle of the road basic fare. Nothing too extravagant, nothing too overly done spice wise. Not crazy priced, and ample portions.

Off site buffets are something you want to be well informed about. Sweet Tomatoes, that Johnie mentioned is quite popular and very reasonably priced. It features mostly salad makings, soups, pasta and limited meat.

Ponderosa, Sizzler, Golden Corral, and those all you can eat seafood places are not places I like to dine. Having said that, many folks like them.