OK this ESTA thing

Discussion in 'Transportation, Travel and Car Rental' started by Dawn, Apr 11, 2010.

  1. Dawn

    Dawn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    14,295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In the red...
    How do I do it?

    I have everyones passports now so I can get it done. Is it hard or is it just click that link up there and fill in a form.

    For some reason it's making me really nervous. :thumbsup:
     
  2. keith

    keith Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    22,382
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Home Page:
    click in the link and fill :yes: just make sure that everything ties in with the details you give elsewhere such as API
     
  3. Dawn

    Dawn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    14,295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In the red...
    You mean there's cross checking??? :unsure:

    What if I do it wrong? :mental:
     
  4. keith

    keith Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    22,382
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Home Page:
    It's somewhat debateable. When I originally spoke to them saying I was from a UK travel website and wanted to tell our readers exactly what to do, they said that at immigration they see information from a variety of checks/forms and they're looking for inconsistencies. One of the most common, they said, was an ESTA form saying one thing and an API saying something different (where are you staying when in the US) etc.

    *HOWEVER* ESTA is valid for two years and people always tell me they don't bother updating them even though the next time they go they're staying at different places! So who knows!

    I always make sure that the info is exactly the same as I put in the API and elsewhere and have never had a problem
     
  5. Dawn

    Dawn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    14,295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In the red...
    Never mind, got to the bit where it asked for the address we're staying at and couldn't really put "no idea" so will try again when have the villa address. :rolleyes:
     
  6. Kate

    Kate New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was just coming on to look for information about this! I was on Virgins website checking whether or not i had to have the new baggage allowance and came across this - i wasnt aware of it before today!
     
  7. Kate

    Kate New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just looking at the website, its making me very nervous :unsure:
     
  8. Dawn

    Dawn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    14,295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In the red...
    Me too. I started to do one but it made my hands shake.

    Seriously! :sigh:
     
  9. Kate

    Kate New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can believe that Dawn! Dont know what it is thats making me nervous, its something we all have to do - i just dont like it!
     
  10. keith

    keith Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    22,382
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Home Page:
    It's fine I promise

    The ANNOYING thing is, they promised that this was instead of all the forms on the plane and guess what? we're now having to do both :(
     
  11. Kate

    Kate New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh great. They make me nervous aswell!! :lol:
     
  12. lisaw

    lisaw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    catering assistant
    Location:
    Berkshire UK
    I hadn't even thought about the fact that the accomodation is on the ESTA forms and we are going to a different place altogether this year! Is it OK to just redo the ESTA forms then even though our ones from last year are still valid? :unsure:
     
  13. keith

    keith Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    22,382
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Home Page:
    yep :yes: this is what I end up doing all the darned time because I stress about it.

    You can also update the existing one if the wind is blowing in the right direction and the website likes you

    HOWEVER everyone else will tell you to relax and it doesnt matter. As long as its still valid no need to do anything.

    All I can say is I do a new one, or update the old one, every time I go to make sure the hotel is right on them. Perhaps I'm just overthinking it (VERY prone to that :lol: ) but it's always been ok so far.

    In fact last time at immigration, he didnt even scan all my fingers. Started to and he said oh you're already on the system no need to do anything else. First time EVER.
     
  14. lisaw

    lisaw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    catering assistant
    Location:
    Berkshire UK
    Thanks Keith - I will redo them, I stress about everything and the thought of immigration at JFK is scaring me to death anyway I don't need added worries! :lol:
     
  15. Kate

    Kate New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont think i could ever go knowing that i hadnt updated my form - thats just asking for sleepness nights if you ask me!!! :mental:
     
  16. keith

    keith Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    22,382
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Home Page:
    Ah yes, JFK. The airport that tried to arrest me for kidnapping my wife :lol: memories memories
     
  17. lisaw

    lisaw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    catering assistant
    Location:
    Berkshire UK
    :eek:

    Well I don't think they will arrest me for trying to kidnap my DH - nobody would be as daft as to want to kidnap him! :lol:
     
  18. keith

    keith Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    22,382
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Home Page:
    Dont be so sure! I made that very same point as my first attempt at a humour defence and I can promise you, it didn't work well :lol:
     
  19. lisaw

    lisaw New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    catering assistant
    Location:
    Berkshire UK
    No I bet! :eek: I think I might change my flights to Newark!
     
  20. uscwest

    uscwest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,695
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Woodbridge, VA
    OK Keith, you're going to have to tell us more on this one. :lol:
     

Share This Page