1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome both old friends and new to the all new Walt Disney Secrets :-D Please take a moment to say hi

Tom Sawyer's Island?

Discussion in 'Walt Disney World' started by Clare, Jan 11, 2009.

1. Clare

Clare Earning my ears

In all my visits I've never been to Tom Sawyer's Island so I'm thinking it's about time I made the effort for my next trip :brightidea:

What exactly is there to do on the Island or is it just really a place to get away from the crowds?

2. Britchick

Britchick Cast Member

i've never done it before - i prefer rides myself:yes:

3. SleepinCatz

SleepinCatz Fluffeh Disney Fan

I used to run and play on that island as a kid. There is a snack bar -which opens seasonaly- with nice rocking chairs on it's covered porch. It's full of trails and surprises from the adventures of Tom Sawyer. I haven't been on it in years but I always see people of all ages on it.

4. Taja

Taja Earning my ears

According to reports, the snack bar has been closed for a while, but there are vending machines. And you can still sit on the porch and relax! :)

TSI is a Disney-designed "natural" habitat. Rock formations with "caves" and "tunnels" for exploring--nothing so deep you feel claustrophobic. Different types of bridges that cross ravines and gorges.

The CMs hide several paintbrushes (remember whitewashing the fence in the book?) each morning, and the family of the person who finds one receives a Fastpass to either Splash Mountain or BTMRR.

I haven't been there since my 1981 visit, as the terrain isn't kind to my left leg/ankle. But I grew up on TSI at Disneyland and absolutely loved it! :D

5. Tink

Tink Cead Mille Failte! Staff Member Administrator

Over the years, I've found that if the visitor's to TSI didn't know the story, they'd not get the allusions of the island. So, it helps if there is some frame of reference.