1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome both old friends and new to the all new Walt Disney Secrets :-D Please take a moment to say hi

Using UK phones in the US

Discussion in 'General' started by Vikki, Apr 18, 2013.

  1. Wendy
    Offline

    Wendy A hui hou kakou makuakane Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22,734
    Likes Received:
    641
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    In Neverland
    Yes, you will need an unlocked phone Vikki and I basically do the same as Keith :yes: except I get Chris to configure it for me :lol:

    I have to let someone very important know that we have arrived safely, so it has to be working for when we get there :D
  2. Vikki
    Offline

    Vikki Serious Forum Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Oh it's all very confusing! Is there such a thing as a cheap unlocked phone?
  3. keith
    Offline

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,421
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Well yes but before you go looking, take the phone you have and ask your cell provider if it's already unlocked and if it's not, COULD it be.

    Voda/o2 usually unlock free, orange/ee usually charge 35 or so
  4. Wendy
    Offline

    Wendy A hui hou kakou makuakane Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22,734
    Likes Received:
    641
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    In Neverland
    Vikki, if you do decide to go down this route and get some unlocked phones then let me know and I will see how many sims I have and send you a couple :)
  5. Vikki
    Offline

    Vikki Serious Forum Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I don't want to take my phone Keith, it's a really nice one and I wouldn't want anything to happen to it. Also, it's huge, I just want something small I can fit in my pocket. I think if I were to take my own, there would probably be some sort of bolt on I could get.
    You know, I'm just wondering whether it might be easier to just take a quick cab ride when we get there and get a cheapy one..... At least I then know it's going to work.....
  6. Wendy
    Offline

    Wendy A hui hou kakou makuakane Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22,734
    Likes Received:
    641
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    In Neverland
    There are some here if you work out what it would cost you to get a phone when you are over there and then compare it to buying a phone here and paying £20 for the red pocket data. In the future all you will need to do is get a sim and pay for the service.
  7. Vikki
    Offline

    Vikki Serious Forum Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Would you be able to get one at the airport?
  8. Vikki
    Offline

    Vikki Serious Forum Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Thanks for that! Ideally I'd like to get a proper American one as it'll have the proper charger etc.
  9. keith
    Offline

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,421
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    sure that makes sense

    There's no bolt on on any plan on any uk provider which comes anywhere close to a US pay as you go. Cheaper than if you didnt have a bolt on sure but still very expensive.

    Sure thing that's very true

    There are loads of unlocked cheapy (relatively) over here you can buy
    http://www.expansys.com/nokia-c2-01-eu-black-217043/

    Probably some cheaper ones in argos too
  10. Vikki
    Offline

    Vikki Serious Forum Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    You lot are fab!

    Do you happen to know if there's somewhere in the airport I could pick one up?
  11. Wendy
    Offline

    Wendy A hui hou kakou makuakane Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22,734
    Likes Received:
    641
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    In Neverland
    Pick up what a phone or a sim card :unsure:
  12. keith
    Offline

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,421
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Pretty much no to both I think :/ although you could pick up an unlocked phone at dixons even duty free I DOUBT it'd be a cheap one

    Better to either buy one before in the uk in which case it'll work as a uk spare as well as us or buy one in the US which is more likely to be us only.

    BUT be very careful about which you buy in the states. Many, even pay as you go, are locked to the networks and IMEI locked which means they may not work with a sim other than the one you get in the packet.
  13. Vikki
    Offline

    Vikki Serious Forum Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    That's kinda what I meant. Just buy one at Orlando international. Then does it really matter what network its on? Its is literally for texting only.
  14. keith
    Offline

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,421
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    right :yes: that's your other option for sure. For texting only you'll be fine, you'll find them clunky and orrible in the main for internet etc. but texting yeah not a problem :)
  15. Vikki
    Offline

    Vikki Serious Forum Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Won't be using them for the internet at all. I'll have my iPad should we want to access the internet. I tend to stay of the internet whilst we're away. Like I said before, we may use it to upload the odd video which we make whilst the kids are falling asleep :)

    So, is there somewhere in the airport we'd be able to get a phone? Never paid attention to the shops before? We're only going to have been on a short flight down from Canada so won't be totally knackered, and we'll have a bit of time to find somewhere.
  16. Coolape
    Offline

    Coolape Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Okay, sorry to jump this thread Vikki! :surrender:

    I've bit the bullet a purchased a RedPocket sim from eBay. Reason being it's meant to run off the AT&T network. The last 2 trips i've been on state-side I've used the t-mobile usa network. Only problem being I have a iPhone 4S and can only pick up their EDGE frequencies.

    Would anyone be able to confirm whether redpocket will be on the 3G network? and if so what sort of download speeds is it?

    I'll only be using the internet occasionally, as our hotel will have Wifi in the lobby.

    TIA!
  17. Wendy
    Offline

    Wendy A hui hou kakou makuakane Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22,734
    Likes Received:
    641
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    In Neverland
    Red pocket is excellent, you are right it does use AT&T and I never lose coverage anywhere, even when I'm using it when I am in the SUV.

    I can't remember what the speeds were, Keith will probably remember but it wasn't slow. I was even able to use the 3G in places that Disney wifi wouldn't work.

    It's second nature for me now, every year I put the money on a sim and its been like that for the last 4 years.

    One piece of advice, if you can order some SIM cards from Amazon when you are over there they are about a dollar each. The sims are only live for 6 months and then they expire.
  18. Coolape
    Offline

    Coolape Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ahh, thats a bummer about it expiring every 6 months.

    I shall activate the sim just before I go over state-side.


  19. Wendy
    Offline

    Wendy A hui hou kakou makuakane Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22,734
    Likes Received:
    641
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    In Neverland
    You can keep it active by adding some more money but unless you go to pay monthly the credit expires in 30days. I guess it depends on how often you go over there :unsure:

Share This Page