1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome both old friends and new to the all new Walt Disney Secrets :-D Please take a moment to say hi

yes it's a Mac question

Discussion in 'Gadgets and Gizmos' started by Dawn, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. Dawn
    Offline

    Dawn carpe diem-ing Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    14,323
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    In the red...
    No facetious comments please. :unimpressed:

    OK so the kids in my class are using imacs to edit some animation sequences. But some of the stop-go animations they have made are saved on a "proper" laptop. Is there anyway of getting them off the lappie and on to the mac so they can edit them please?
     
  2. Skywatcher
    Offline

    Skywatcher Chief Astronomer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,661
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    They should be easily convertible - one of the things about mac is it takes virtually every format - what file type are they saving in?
     
  3. Dawn
    Offline

    Dawn carpe diem-ing Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    14,323
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    In the red...
    No idea. :lol:

    So I can't just whack it all on a CD and stick that in the mac slot then? :unsure:
     
  4. keith
    Online

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,615
    Likes Received:
    464
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    CD/usb stick etc yeah for sure :) but it would help if the format the files are saved in was an editable format on the mac :D

    Worth a shot straight off though as you say!
     
  5. josh.p.
    Offline

    josh.p. Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Wirral
    What are you editing/making them with? Flash?
     
  6. Dawn
    Offline

    Dawn carpe diem-ing Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    14,323
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    In the red...
    Where does one insert a USB stick on an imac? :unsure:
     
  7. keith
    Online

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,615
    Likes Received:
    464
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    into the USB slot? I mean you could try the dvd slot but it wouldn't help much :taunt:

    (usb slots on the back of the monitor)
     
  8. catrancher
    Offline

    catrancher Assistant Cruise Director Forum Host

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cumming, GA. A small suburb of Atlanta.
    :thud:

    What Keef said! :yes:

    Tom:)macwave:... that wasn't facetious. I was being serious!)
     
  9. josh.p.
    Offline

    josh.p. Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Wirral
    They're on the back of the iMac, and there is also two slots on either side of the keyboard if you have a wired one. If you have a wireless keyboard you're stuck with the ones on the back of the iMac, at the opposite end to the power button! :yes:
     
  10. Tink
    Offline

    Tink Cead Mille Failte! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    26,412
    Likes Received:
    549
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    15 minutes (or so) North of WDW
    Sometimes using the ones on the side of the wired keyboard isn't as efficient as using the ones on the back. Go ahead! Turn it around and have a good look. It's not that scary. :yes:

    Pop a stick in the slot and you are ready to go.

    Honest Dawn. We'd not be pestering you to give it a good go if we weren't thoroughly convinced these machines were the best.

    Macs are just so much more everything, but the cool factor is pretty important too! :D :D :lol:
     
  11. josh.p.
    Offline

    josh.p. Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Wirral
    The ones on my keyboard are pretty good :yes: my iPhone is always plugged into them to charge etc. I can't use both on the keyboard if I've got my iPhone in one though :yes:
     
  12. Tink
    Offline

    Tink Cead Mille Failte! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    26,412
    Likes Received:
    549
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    15 minutes (or so) North of WDW
    I can't remember which device I have that doesn't like the keyboard???? :unsure: I want to say the iPod, but that sounds so wrong...

    No real matter. There are always the ones in the back. :yes:
     
  13. Dawn
    Offline

    Dawn carpe diem-ing Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    14,323
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    In the red...
    OK USB stick in back of monitor and see what happens.

    I only want to know so the kids can finish their projects. No more.
     
  14. josh.p.
    Offline

    josh.p. Addicted to Mickey

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Wirral
    Do you have the old plastic keyboard or the new alu one? We use the plastic clear ones in college and they don't let us do anything! A USB stick is about all they can handle.
     
  15. Tink
    Offline

    Tink Cead Mille Failte! Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    26,412
    Likes Received:
    549
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    15 minutes (or so) North of WDW
    Oh old one for sure. This iMac (the upside down bowl looking one :D ) was purchased new when we bought the house in 2003!!! :eek:

    We are SO ready for a new one. :D But this one is still going strong, thanks to upgrade help from Keith! :yes:
     
  16. Dawn
    Offline

    Dawn carpe diem-ing Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    14,323
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    In the red...
    OK the first attempt failed miserably.

    On the laptop they are using Stop Go 6.5pro and to save the project as a movie the options are as an .avi or a .wmv file. I tried both but when I tried to import the movie off my memory stick on to imovie it said that quick player could not read the file. But when I checked the help page it said that .avi is supported. Am I missing something obvious? :unsure:

    On a plus side though I have got more music on the macs for the kids to use and I've also figured out how they can record themselves in front of the 'puter and put that on imovies for editing.

    Dawn (slowly and unhappily mastering the mac...)
     
  17. Skywatcher
    Offline

    Skywatcher Chief Astronomer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,661
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    hmm .wmv wont work as that is a windows file exclusively I think linked to their media player the .avi should work fine though
     
  18. keith
    Online

    keith Camera nut Staff Member Administrator Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,615
    Likes Received:
    464
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I still say you should be happy! It's not winblows, it's true unix and a purer variant of unix than linux as well ;) ok it has a GUI on top which you can argue for or against but I'd say it's a better experience than KDE or GNOME both of which need serious fixing.

    On the actual problem though :lol: argh :/ I think .avi is more of an output format than an importable/editable one. I'm sure I'll be corrected, I dont use imovie myself. Are there any export options from the pc package rather than "make a movie" ? Really you want to export the data.

    It may be possible to convert .avi into something imovie likes as well but I know that once we get THERE it'll all seem too bothersome to do won't it
     
  19. Dawn
    Offline

    Dawn carpe diem-ing Forum Host

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    14,323
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    In the red...
    I'll have another look tomorrow and see what options there are. Could see an export command but didn't really have time to play around much.
     
  20. Skywatcher
    Offline

    Skywatcher Chief Astronomer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,661
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I'm no experst but all my astro stuff is formatted and usedin avi format and it is very editable

    The drawback in this case seems to be typ[ical of microsoft making a product that will exposrt only in a format that its own software can utilise - how very unlike Mr Gates to do THAT
     

Share This Page