Broadband

Discussion in 'General Disney Chat, Disney Secrets & Tips' started by Deafjeff, Apr 27, 2017.

  1. Deafjeff

    Deafjeff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4,536
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Training and Development Manager
    Location:
    Caerphilly
    Hi who are you with? we have been with BT and infinity 2 is £55 per month!

    sky offered fibre max for £35 just wondered what they are like? We ave sky q so looking to get sky q hub too.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  2. keith

    keith Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    23,173
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Home Page:
    it always depends on where you are, the quality of the cable into your house and THEN the options available from the provider.

    Here, I can't get virgin so that's out (otherwise that would be the fastest option and a way to get away from expensive sky tv)

    I'm with AAISP because they're very specialist and have a strong stance on not filtering, changing, slowing your connection in any way even when asked to do so by the government. HOWEVER they're very expensive and unless you need them on your side, you could argue the price is silly.

    SKY are middle of the road quality (but you may never notice that) and one of the cheapest options!

    talktalk are awful across the board generally speaking from experience (support particularly bad)


    Sooooo that's it really! if sky makes most sense given what else you have from them, there's no reason not to try them... they can suffer a bit on speed at busy times but that can be area related as well so a lot of people never notice.
     
  3. Deafjeff

    Deafjeff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4,536
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Training and Development Manager
    Location:
    Caerphilly
    Thanks keith


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  4. Deafjeff

    Deafjeff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4,536
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Training and Development Manager
    Location:
    Caerphilly
    Got quote from AAISP it's £50 per month for 1TB allowance. I'm unsure if this is enough as we use FaceTime regular and watch UHD on Netflix. Sky does unlimited. There are plenty of great reviews out there for AAISP


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. keith

    keith Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    23,173
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Home Page:
    1TB is enough even for me ;-) I usually use about 1/2 of it - quality wise, I don't know any better than AAISP and if your line develops a fault, they will take it all the way with BT! they've been known to spend months and thousands of pounds chasing BT for some fault that no other ISP would have even found.

    *BUT* yah know, are you the kind of user who needs that? would you notice that the latency on AAISP is better or that they don't proxy cache websites or filter etc? because 99.9% of people will never ever see that or care about it and sky is much cheaper and unlimited!

    Internet is my business so I don't mess around. I have AAISP and I have two backup lines from other providers to my house... but when family and friends ask, I never talk them out of sky or bt (I do talk them out of talktalk because I dont want the hassle of supporting them when it falls over ;-)
     
  6. Deafjeff

    Deafjeff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4,536
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Training and Development Manager
    Location:
    Caerphilly
    Hehe. They use talk talk line or something like that


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. Deafjeff

    Deafjeff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4,536
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Training and Development Manager
    Location:
    Caerphilly
    What about zen Internet?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. keith

    keith Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    23,173
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Home Page:
    Well there are different points.... so you can use talktalk internet which would be BT cable to your local exchange (copper/fibre or mix) and then USUALLY talktalk kit at the exchange with talktalk lines back to their datacentres and out to the internet. That tends to be the trouble.

    AAISP use either talktalk or BT as a "backhaul" out of the BT core and into their own datacentres and out. the 1TB service uses talktalk business backhaul which is different from what you get if you just sign up to talktalk internet at home. It's very closely monitored and indeed, they recently spotted a fault inside talktalk and were very open about it and worked hard to fix it.

    Zen were good in the old days but I've recently cancelled my backup from them. I had a line drop in achievable speed from 100 to 50 and they just said well it's probably interference and it'll get better (it didnt over a year) finally they said BT wouldnt consider it a fault, even though it halved in speed and so they wouldnt follow it up. despite the line being at 100 for 6 years previously.

    AAISP took over the line and the fault and fixed it in 30 days.

    Now..... most people probably wouldnt have noticed the drop in attainable speed, 50 is still good..... but zen didnt help me so I will no longer recommend them
     

Share This Page